Returning on 300

I didn’t realize it until just now – but this is my 300th published post. I haven’t been writing as of late – been bogged down with just life that I’ve had little motivation to come back. So my last post was number 299 and remained the latest one until tonight.

At last, I made it to 300 posts. Only took 15 years…

As I mentioned, I’ve lacked motivation – the desire – to write. Even the “daily” journaling I’ve been doing for over 20 years I’ve neglected. Now it’s “when-I-feel-like-it” journaling. I’m 37, getting up there, and sometimes those youthful aspirations start to whither and die out. I started a daily journal when I was 16 – on and off occasionally – but it was the one constant habit I had these past 20 years. Yet, even that fell at the wayside. My wife associates me with my journal habits which to add to all of tonight’s ironies is a custom one she gifted me with my name on it.

I’ve lost some aspects of my identity and again – it’s life. Things get dropped and picked up again – like that guitar you swore you’d learn one day to impress that girl you liked or that half-way done cross-stitch that should’ve finished several Christmases ago. Yet somehow, we find a way to get back on track and even hit a milestone as a result (300). I had no plans to write tonight, but I was inspired somehow (perhaps to keep me busy and active). These words in front of me now are teaching me an invaluable lesson in real-time.

I don’t have to be afraid to pick up where I left off.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.