The Importance of a New Year

Happy new year! I’m back after a month-long hiatus. My family took the time to celebrate the Christmas season and have a vacation in the beginning of January, so it has been an eventful, busy, and fun time.

Even though the switch from 2017 to 2018, in reality, doesn’t result in some major, seismic change in our daily lives, there is something about the +1 increase to the numbered year we live in. We need “sign posts” to help guide us. One of the biggest ones is the transition to a new year. For example, whenever a new year rolls around, I start listing all the goals I want to accomplish (Yes, I’m a strong believer in resolutions). I don’t expect to achieve all of them, but there is some mental value in making a list of goals/resolution for a new year. It’s a significant marker. When the next year rolls around, I can then look back at the entire previous year and check-off all that I accomplished or failed miserably on.

I made a list that is long and nearly impossible to all achieve. That part isn’t as important to me as the progress in my character and resolve as a result of trying to achieve these goals. Along the way of trying to achieve lofty goals for the year, I manage to achieve the lesser/smaller ones – all of this because I feel 2018 is a fresh start, a chance for renewal.

If I fail more often than not, then 2019 is another fresh start and chance for renewal.

And the year after that…

And the year after that…

And the year after that…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.